Farewell Jerry Reed / 2008

Farewell Jerry Reed

Grammy Award winning Country Western composer/musician and screen actor Jerry Reed died from complications of emphysema at the age of 71 yesterday. With a career that spanned 50 years and produced 40 albums Jerry was an icon within the music industry and will be sorely missed by all who knew this wonderfully talented human being.

Jerry will live on through his gifts of music with “When You’re Hot, You’re Hot, East Bound and Down and Guitar Man” just to name a few. He acted on the silver screen as Burt Reynolds truck driving partner in “Smokey and the Bandit” in a memorable performance. And in some way that’s how I want to remember Jerry Reed, that old school trucker and his acoustical guitar. I really enjoyed his music through the years. Jerry’s tunes followed me through life it seems fore his music would take me back in time.

From glowing times of passion and desire to the crushing blow of loves dark passage, I’ve always found a song that told my own personal story. Jerry’s music was a vital part of my comfort zone and I would escape into a world of bliss and reflect on memories of my greatest joy. One of my all time favorites of Jerry’s was “Georgia on My Mind” when he performed it with music legend Chet Atkins. Check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_RG9W-NVdk&feature=related

In writing this piece I can’t help but reflect on my own mortality as I come to terms with his. It’s like loosing an old friend and in some way it truly is for he was with me when I was happy and when I was sad. We journeyed through life together from peaks to valleys. The world will be just that much lonelier for me now that the Guitar Man has gone. And now the curtain draws to a close on a dynamic career as he drifts into memory. Good Bye Jerry.

Your Devil’s Advocate
Buffalohair
www.buffalohairgazette.com
_________________
Creativity is the byproduct of a fertile mind

Leave a Reply

