RE: The 12 Days of Christmas, Turtle Island Style

 

01_eagle_pine_tree-vincent_schilling
Vincent Schilling
And a bald eagle in a pine tree!

Share this Story

Quote:

The 12 Days of Christmas, Turtle Island Style

Vincent Schilling
12/24/13

We know you’ve been getting the house ready, wrapping presents, calling family members, finishing up that last bit of shopping or putting some finishing touches on a cherished handmade present!

Maybe you’ve even been humming along to any number of Christmas carols that are so ubiquitous this time of year.

RELATED: Christmas Playlist: 5 Classic Carols in Native Languages

Christmas Playlist Part 2: More Native-Language Classic Carols

Here we have the Twelve Days of Christmas, Native Style! Forget those maids-a-milking, lords-a-leaping, golden rings, and a partridge in a pear tree. These images pay tribute to the veterans, dancers, emcees and other standouts who make Indian country vibrant and keep it connected.

On the 12th day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
12 drum group members

12_drum_group_members-vincent_schilling

On the 11th day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
11 tribal leaders

11_tribal_leaders-vincent_schilling

On the 10th day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
10 Women Warriors

10_women_warriors-vincent_schilling_0

On the ninth day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
Nine little dancers

09_little_dancers-vincent_schilling

On the eighth day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
Eight Meherrin tribal members

08_meherrin_tribal_members-vincent_schilling_0

On the seventh day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
Seven veterans saluting

07_veterans_saluting-vincent_schilling

On the sixth day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
Six Golden Eagles

06_golden_eagles-vincent_schilling

On the fifth day of Christmas my true love gave to me….
Five turquoise rings

05_turquoise_rings-vincent_schilling

Four Miss Lumbees

04_miss_lumbees-vincent_schilling

Three smiling men

03_smiling_men-vincent_schilling

Two Pow Wow Emcees….

02_pow_wow_emcees-vincent_schilling

…. And a bald eagle in a pine tree

eagle_pine_tree-schilling-larger

 

Read more at http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2013/12/24/12-days-christmas-turtle-island-style-152852
Leave a Reply

